You are here: Sri Vaishnava Home Page : Bhakti List : Archives : October 2000

A question on bhagavAn's incarnations.

From: Narasimhan Krishnamachari (
Date: Tue Oct 24 2000 - 05:54:36 PDT

As I was looking through chapter 3 of the first skandam of SrImad
bhAgavatam, I found that the number of incarantions and the sequence of
incarnations of bhagavAn were different from the daSAvatAram sequence
that many of us are familiar with.  Can someone comment on the
difference in the sequence as well as the number (there seem to be 38
incarnations described in SrImad bhAgavatam.  The sequence described
starts with kaumAra, saukara, devarshitva or nArada etc.).  I would
like to know a reference where the details of these incarnations are
explained further.

-dAsan kRshNamAcAryan

Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Messenger - Talk while you surf!  It's FREE.

           - SrImate rAmAnujAya namaH -
To Post a message, send it to:
Search archives at