You are here: Sri Vaishnava Home Page : Bhakti List : Archives : March 2000

Date: Sat Mar 04 2000 - 09:01:24 PST

Several weeks back, a list member had enquired about the various types if 
Pralaya. I encountered the following verses in the Kurma Purana today which 
might be of help:

2.43.5: Kurma said: The four kinds of Pralaya are discussed in this 
Purana--Nitya, Naimittika, Prakruta and Atayantika
2.43.6: The desruction of creatures (and elements) which is constantly seem 
in this world is termed as 'Nitya' by the sages.
2.43.7: The dissolution of the 3 lokas which occurs at the end of the kalpa 
(i.e., a day of Brahma) is called Naimittika by the wise
2.43.8: When all entitities, starting from Mahat and ending in Visesha, 
dissolve (into Prakrti), it is called 'Prakruta' dissolution
2.43.9: When a Yogi gets merged into Brahman by virtue of spiritual wisdom, 
it is called 'Atyantika' by the sages who are 'kaalachintakas'.

The following passages then describe the Naimittika and other pralayas in 


- aazhvaar, emberumaanaar, desikan, jeeyar tiruvadigale saranam -
To Post a message, send it to:
Visit for more information

Start your own free email group on eGroups.

-- Easily schedule meetings and events using the group calendar!