You are here: Sri Vaishnava Home Page : Bhakti List : Archives : January 2001

the evolutes of prakriti

From: Kasturi Varadarajan (
Date: Mon Jan 22 2001 - 19:16:23 PST

Namaste. Prakrti, from its primordial condition, evolves via the
mahat and the ahamkara into the ten indriyas, manas, the five
gross elements and the five subtle elements or tanmatras. There
is a parallel with the subtle and gross bodies (sukshma and
sthula shariras) of the jiva. (take for example the ten indriyas.)

Is there some idea behind this parallel that has been elaborated
by vedantic acharyas ?

(I saw this parallel mentioned in some book.)

best wishes

           - SrImate rAmAnujAya namaH -
To Post a message, send it to:
Search archives at
Manage your subscription at