You are here: Sri Vaishnava Home Page : Bhakti List : Archives : December 1995

Krish"s question on the 3 typesof Chetanas

From: V. Sadagopan (
Date: Sat Dec 16 1995 - 20:03:37 PST

Krish: Here is an attempt at answer to your
request for defenitions of the three types of Jivans.
I have taken the liberty to expand on these themes
from sourc eliterature.

The source material for  this posting comes from
 Professor A.Srinivasa Raghavan"s outstanding
 Monograph on Visishtaadvaitam  released by 
T&T Devasthaanam in 1985. At many  places, I will  be
quoting him verbatim:

According to Vishishtadvaita Doctrines, the Jivans, 
which are infinite in number are quite different from 
one another , based on their Karmic history.The three types
of Jivans are : Baddha, Mukta and Nitya Jivans.

BADDHA JIVAN OR SOULS IN BONDAGE: they are associated with
bodies as a result of unexpended  Karmas from previous births
The birth of the Jivans in the world is due to Avidya or Nescience in them.
Avidya results from Karma. The repeated performance of Karma by 
the Jivans leaves Vasana or the latent impressions in their mind,which 
in turn generates Ruci or propensity to do or engage in an act.This
in turn leads to PrakrtiSambhanda or association with the Prakrti or Body.
This embodiment  causes  further Avidya and consequent Karma.
 Thus , all of the above--Avidya, Karma , embodiment -- work in a cycle.
Each one is influenced by the one that precedes it  and is the  cause
of the other that  follows.This has been going on from time immemorial.
The law of Karma works with relentless  vigour and no one can escape
 its consequences. 

MUKTA JIVAN OR FREED SOUL:  A Baddha Jiva , who by a study of the
 sastras at the feet of a qualified Acharya acquires the correct knowledge
about the nature of the Body, Jivan, Achetana and Iswaran or Paramatman.
He or She then experiences a desire for Moksha( Freedom from the 
cycles of Births and Deaths) and becomes  a Mumukshu. When at  the end 
of earthly existence, such a person casts the mortal coils and the Jivan
travels the Arcvhiraadi Margam and reaches Sri Vaikuntam and becomes 
an enjoyer of the bliss of Sri Vaikuntam and offers eternal service to the Lord 
and His Consort. There , the Mukta Jivan  associates with the Nitya Suris on
an equal footing  and enjoys the bliss of Paramapadam.

NITYA JIVANS OR EVER FREE SOULS: Some examples of them are Garuda,
Adi Sesha and Vishvaksena. They as  a class have not even a shadow 
of the touch of Karma, and therefore have not been the victims of Samsara or the

empirical world of suffering.

The difference between the Nityas and Muktas is that  the Mukta attained
the perfect bliss of  residence in Vaikuntam and  service to the Paramatman 

The Nityas are of  two kinds. Bhaktas, who serve Paramatman directly
 and Bhagavatas who serve the Bhaktas and thus serve the Supreme 
Lord indirectly. Ananta , Garuda and Vishvaksena and the like  belong to
 the first category and the rest to the second Category. There are other Nityas
 who are not doing any particular service .They behold the others serving the
and Bhagavata Nityas with reverence and pride . There is no rivalry between 
the two  categories (ie) the Nitya Suris, the erstwhile Mukta, who joined the
ranks of Nityas  serving the other Nityas and those, who are enjoying the bliss
of Vaikuntam without offering any kainkaryam directly or indirectly..

The Nityas occasionally come down to our world either with their Lord or
by themselves .If they do so, it is  not because of the power of Karma, but
by their own will or  at the behest of their  Lord. They come down to assist 
and continue the work of their Lord related to the redemption of the Baddha 
Jivans.The Azhwars  and the Acharyas are recognized as the incarnations
 of one or other Nityas.When their work is over,they return to their home in
Sri Vaikuntam. When they  are in this world,they behave like their Lord 
themselves (ie) they are like human beings subjec tto the rules and
the sorrows and  sufferings of the  world.They are however NOT the victims of
Karma.In their case, it is only the semblence of suffering on the stage of
the world like that of  a consummate actor on the stage (Rangam). They 
undertake this work on this earth  to please their Supreme Lord.

The Muktas  and Nityas  differ from Iswaran in that  they  unlike their Lord 
 are  not responsible for the creation , maintenance and  destruction of this
 universe. He  and He alone has "Jagat Kaaranatvam ,Sarvesvaratvam,
Vyapaktvam, Sarva Seshitvam,  Sarva Karma samaaraadhyatvam,
 Sarva Pala Pradhatvam,--- Svataa Satyasankalpatvam ".
These  are Isvara Lakshanams..