You are here: Sri Vaishnava Home Page : Bhakti List : Archives : December 2001

Five angas of Prapatti and Atma nikshepam

From: Madhavakkannan V (
Date: Fri Dec 07 2001 - 21:32:34 PST

SrImathE Gopaladesika mahadesikaya namah:
Dear Sri TL Mohan,
On the thread of Bharatha,VisheeshaNa saraNagathi, you had asked why there 
are five angas only and not the sixth Athma nikshepam added?

Here is the answer
The five angas of prapatti are:
1. Anukoolya sankalpam (determination to act /do what pleases the Lord)
2. prAthikoolya varjanam (refrain from acts that displease and cause 
displeasure for the Lord)
3. KaarpaNyam (feeling of humility arising from helplessness in resorting to 
other means of salvation (Bhakti Yogam))
4. MahAviswAsam (absolute, unshakeable faith in Lord as the SOLE PROTECTOR)
5. Goptrtva varaNam- nmaking a request to the Lord seeking his protection)

Athma nikshEpam- entrusting the burden of protection of the individual self 
to the care of the Lord- is considered to be the angi, while the five are 
called angas. Athma nikshepam- act of self surrender is included and is 
called as six fold discipline in Ahirbudhnya smahithA, while Lakshmi Tanthra 
while defining Athma nikshepam, (also known as Saranagathi or nyAsam) speaks 
of five components (nyAsa pnachAnga samyutha). There is however no conflict 
between the two. In Ahirbudhnya samhitha Athmanikshepam is incldued with the 
five; while Lakshmi thanthram separately mentions it.

Erudite scholars may please supplement adiyEn's rambling and reinforce 
/strengthen the same.
Errors and faults are mine. The goodness (if any) goes to the posts in the 
acrhives and Sri SMS Chari's book (from which I could gather few points)
Narayana Narayana
NarayaNa dAsan madhavakkannan

Get your FREE download of MSN Explorer at

           - SrImate rAmAnujAya namaH -
To Post a message, send it to:

Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to