You are here: Sri Vaishnava Home Page : Bhakti List : Archives : April 1997

Dateline for 1997-98

Tatachar_at_aol.com
Date: Fri Apr 04 1997 - 05:38:39 PST

Dear Bhagavatas,

The pupose of this mail is to say I am alive and thank all the Bhagavatas for
their postings and discussions which have been of immense value to me.  As we
all know, Chittirai Vishu is around the corner. I just prepared the list of
festivals and other important dates for our temple. I thought I will share it
here. This list is by no means complete. If you have information on dates
such as Thirunakshatram of Sri Manavala Munigal,  other Acharyas please post
them. I will add them on to our temple calander. 

Important Dates for ISHWARA Samvatsaram
April 97 - March 98

(if you Know of  anyother event, please bring to the attention of the Puja
Committee Chairperson, Koti Sreekrishna 984-4179)

April 8 (Tue):      Chandramana Ugadi, Gudi Padva, Cheti Chand
                           (Telugu & Kannada New year's day, Ishwara
     Samvatsar  begins)
April 13 (Sun):    Sauramana Ugadi (Tamil New Year's day), Vaishaki,
 Chittirai Vishu 
April 14 (Mon):   Ambedkar Jayanthi
April 16 (Wed): Sri Rama Navami
April 18 (Fri):      Ekadashi
April 20 (Sun):    Mahavira Jayanthi, Pradosham
April 22 (Tue):    Chitra Poornima, Akkamahadevi Jayanthi, Karaga, Madhura
Kavi Azhwar Thirunakshatram
April 26 (Sat):     Sankashta Chaturthi
April 27 (Sun):    Matsya Jayanthi

May 3 (Sat):        Ekadashi
May 4 (Sun):       Pradosham
May 5 (Mon):      Varaha Jayanthi, Masa Shivarathri
May 6 (Tue):       Ammavasya
May 9 (Fri):         Parashurama Jayanthi, Basava Jayanthi
May 11 (Sun):     Shankara & Ramanuja Jayanthi
May 17 (Sat):      Vasavi Jayanthi
May 18 (Sun):      Ekadashi
May 21 (Wed):     Narasimha Jayanthi, Namma Azhwar Thirunakshatram
May 22 (Thu):      Buddha Poornima
May 22(Thu)-May 26 (Mon): Murthi Pranpratishtapan Mahotsav
May 25 (Sun):      Sankashta Chaturthi

June 1 (Sun):        Ekadashi
June 2 (Mon):       Pradosham
June 3 (Tue):        Masa Shivarathri
June 4 (Wed):      Ammavasya
June 8 (Sun):  Graduation Havan
June 14 (Sat)-June 15(Sun): Akhand Ramayan
-----(Celebration of the 5th anniversary of Temple construction)-----
June 16 (Mon):     Nirjala Ekadashi, Periya Azhwar  Thirunakshatram 
June 18 (Wed):     Pradosham
June 20 (Fri):        Poornima, Vata Savithri Vrat
June 23 (Mon):     Sankashta Chaturthi

July 1 (Tue):      Ekadashi
July 2 (Wed):     Pradosham
July 3 (Thu):      Masa Shivarathri
July 4 (Fri):        Ammavasya
July 16 (Wed):   Ekadashi, Dakshinayan begins, Chaturmas Vrat begins
July 20 (Sun): Vyasa (Guru) Poornima
July 23 (wed):    Sankashta Chaturthi
July 30 (Wed):   Ekadashi
July 31 (Thu):    Pradosham
Aug 2 (sat):        Ammavasya, Jyothir Bheemeshwara Vrat, 
                           Bheeman Ammavasae
Aug 6 (Wed):     Andal Tiruvaadipuram (Andal's birthday)
Aug 8 (Fri):        Naag Panchami
Aug 14 (Thu):    Ekadashi,   Sudarshana Narasimha Jayanthi
Aug 15 (Fri): Varamahalakshmi Vrata, 
                            50th anniversary of India's Independence day
Aug 17(Sun):   Rig Veda Upakarma
Aug 18 (Mon): Yajur Veda and Pratham Upakarma, Raksha Bhandan,  Avani
Avittam, Poornima
Aug 19 (Tue): Gayathri Japam
Aug 20 (wed):     Raghavendra Swamy Punyatithi, Sindhara
Aug 21 (Thu):     Sankashta Chaturthi, Teej
Aug 25 (Mon):Sri Krishna Janmashtami
Aug 26 (Tue): Sri Krishna Jayanthi
Aug 28 (Thu):     Ekadashi
Aug 30 (Sat):      Pradosham
Aug 31 (Sun):     Masa Shivarathri

Sep 1 (Mon):      Amavasya
Sep 4 (Thu):  Sama Veda Upakarma, Kalki Jayanthi
Sep 5 (Fri):        SwarNa Gowri Vrath, Vinayak Vrath
Sep 6 (Sat):   Vinayaka Chaturthi
Sep 7 (Sun):       Rishi Panchami
Sep 13 (Sat):      Ekadashi
Sep 14 (Sun): ONam,  Vamana Jayanthi
Sep 16 (Tue):     Poornima, Lunar Eclipse (India), Shraadhs begin
Sep 17 (Wed):    Mahalaya Paksh begins
Sep 19 (Fri):       Sankashta Chaturthi
Sep 27 (Sat):      Ekadashi
Sep 28 (Sun):     Pradosham

Oct 1 (Wed):  Mahalaya Ammavasya
Oct 2 (Thu):   Navarathri begins, Mahatma Gandhi Jayanthi
Oct 8 (Wed):  Saraswathi Puja, Maha Saptami
Oct 9 (Thu):   Durgashtami, Maha Ashtami
Oct 10 (Fri):  Ayudh Puja, Mahanavami 
Oct 11 (Sat):  Vijaya Dashami, Venkateshwara Jayanthi,
                     Vedanta Deshikar Thirunakshatram
Oct 12 (Sun):     Ekadashi
Oct 13 (Mon):    Pradosham
Oct 16 (Thu):     Valmiki Jayanthi, Poornima
Oct 19 (Sun):     Sankashta Chaturthi, Karva Chouth
Oct 26 (Sun):     Ekadashi
Oct 28 (Tue):     Pradosham, Dhanvantari Jayanthi
Oct 29 (Wed):    Masa Shivarathri, Neeru thumbo habba
Oct 30 (Thu):     Naraka Chaturdashi, Deepavali
Oct 31 (Fri):       Deepavali Ammavasya, Goverdhan Puja
Nov 1 (Sun):        Bali Padyami, Kamadhenu Puja
Nov 2 (Mon):       Bhai Duj
Nov 5 (Wed):     Vishvaksenar Thirunakshatram
Nov 7 (Fri):       Yagnavalkya Jayanthi
                           Poigai Azhwar & Pillai Lokacharyar Thirunakshatram
Nov 8 (Sat):       Bhoodath Azhwar Thirunakshatram
Nov 9 (Sun):      Pey Azhwar Thirunakshatram
Nov 11 (Tue):    Ekadashi
Nov 12 (Wed):   Pradosham, Utthana Dwadashi
Nov 14 (Fri):      Poornima, Gurunanak birthday
                         Ayyappa Mandala Puja begins
                           Thirumangai Azhwar Thirunakshatram
Nov 15 (Sat):     Thirupaan Azhwar Thirunakshatram
Nov 17 (Mon):    Sankashta chaturthi, Kanakadasa jayanthi
Nov 25 (Tue):     Ekadashi
Nov 27 (Thu):     Pradosham
Nov 28 (Fri):      Masa Shivarathri
Nov 29 (Sat):      Amavasya

Dec 5 (Fri):    Skanda (Subramanya) Shashti
Dec 10 (Wed): Bhagavadgita Jayanthi, Ekadashi
Dec 11 (Thu):      Hanuman Jayanthi, Pradosham
Dec 12 (Fri):       Shiva Deepa
Dec 13 (Sat):       Dattatreya Jayanthi
Dec 14 (Sun):      Poornima, Huttari Habba, Vishnu Deepa
Dec 16 (Tue):  Dhanurmaas Puja begins
Dec 17 (Wed):     Sankashta Chaturthi
Dec 21 (Sun):      Bhairavaashtami
Dec 25 (Thu):      Ekadashi
Dec 27 (Sat):       Pradosham
Dec 28 (Sun):      Masa Shivarathri, Thondaradippodi Azhwar Thirunakshatram 
Dec 29 (Mon):     Amavasya

Jan 8 (Thu):   Vaikunta Ekadashi
Jan 10 (Sat):        Pradosham, Koodarai Vellum in Temples
Jan 11 (Sun):      Koodarai Vellum, Shakambari Vrat
Jan 12 (Mon):     Poornima, Kumaravyasa Jayanthi
Jan 13 (Tue):  Bhogi festival, Lohri
Jan 14 (Wed):  Makara Sankranti, Pongal, Uttarayan Punyakaal begins
                      Makara Villukku (Ayyappa Mandala puja concludes)
Jan 15 (Thu):  Kanu, Mattu Pongal
Jan 16 (Fri):        Sankashta Chaturthi,  Thirumazhisai Azhwar
Thirunakshatram
Jan 17 (Sat):        Thyagaraja Aradhan
Jan 24 (Sat):        Ekadashi
Jan 25 (Tue):       Pradosham
Jan 26 (Wed):      Masa Shivarathri
Jan 27 (Thu):       Amavasya
Jan 28 (Fri):         Garuda Jayanthi, Purandara Dasara Punyathithi


Feb 1 (Sun):   Vasanta Panchami, Sri Panchami
Feb 3 (Tue):         Ratha Saptami
Feb 5 (Thu):         Madhva Navami
Feb 7 (Sat):           Ekadashi
Feb 8 (Sun):         Pradosham
Feb 9 (Mon):       Masa Shivarathri
Feb 11 (Tue):       Poornima
Feb 22 (Sun):       Ekadashi
Feb 24 (Tue):       Pradosham
Feb 25 (Wed): Mahashivarathri
Feb 26 (Thu):      Ammavasya
Feb 28 (Sat):       Sri Ramakrishna Paramahams birthday
Mar 8  (Sun):       Ekadashi
Mar 10 (Tue):      Pradosham
Mar 12 (Thu): Holi Dahan
Mar 13 (Fri):   Holi Poornima
Mar 16 (Mon):     Sankashta Chaturthi
Mar 24 (Tue):      Ekadashi
Mar 25 (Wed):     Pradosham
Mar 26 (Thu):      Masa Shivarathri
Mar 28 (Sat):        Amavasya
Mar 29 (Sun):  Chandramana Ugadi, Gudi Padva, Cheti Chand
                      (Telugu & Kannada New year's day, Bahudhanya
                     
                             Samvatsar begins)     
  
-Dasan

Tatachar (K. Sreekrishna)